Buying a Permit by Phone

Buying a Permit by Phone

Buying a permit by phone can be the simplest way for an out-of-state ATV or UTV owner to prepare for a North Dakota ride. The key is to call about the right document: visitors generally need a non-resident access permit, while resident machines are handled through registration. Here’s what to confirm before, during, and after the call.

First, confirm which permit you need

North Dakota requires OHVs operated on public land to be properly registered or permitted, according to the North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department. For an out-of-state owner, that generally means buying a non-resident public trails and lands access permit. The department says visitors can purchase this permit by calling 701-328-5357.

A non-resident permit is different from North Dakota registration. Registration applies to resident OHVs, while the visitor permit is for an OHV registered outside North Dakota. The distinction matters: calling to buy a visitor permit does not, by itself, register an out-of-state machine in North Dakota. For a fuller comparison, see North Dakota Registration Versus a Non-Resident Permit and North Dakota’s Non-Resident OHV Permit.

Your situation What to ask about What to keep in mind
Your OHV is registered outside North Dakota The non-resident public trails and lands access permit The North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department says out-of-state OHV owners must purchase this permit.
Your OHV is a North Dakota resident machine North Dakota OHV registration The department says resident OHVs operated on public land and trails need registration through the North Dakota Department of Transportation.
You are not sure whether the machine or your plans qualify Whether the visitor permit applies to your machine and intended riding Describe the machine’s home-state registration and where you plan to ride, then follow the department’s guidance.

The non-resident permit costs $10 per year as of November 2026, according to the North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department. The department says non-resident permits are valid from January 1 through December 31. That calendar-year validity is worth checking against your travel dates, especially if your ride is near the end of the year. Read North Dakota Permit Expiration Date if you want to understand the timing in more detail.

North Dakota residents should not assume that calling about a visitor permit is a substitute for registration. The state’s registration process is separate, and the North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department identifies the North Dakota Department of Transportation as the agency through which resident OHV registration is available. If your residency or registration status is uncertain, explain that before paying so you can confirm the correct route. North Dakota Registration for a New Resident covers a related situation.

How to buy the permit by phone

The purchase route supplied by the North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department is direct: call 701-328-5357 and ask to purchase a non-resident public trails and lands access permit for your out-of-state OHV. The department’s information confirms phone purchase is available, but it does not specify call-center hours, accepted payment methods, or exactly what details the representative will request. Confirm those practical details during the call rather than relying on assumptions.

A little preparation can make the conversation clearer:

  1. Have the machine’s home-state registration information available. The purpose is to establish that you are asking about a non-resident permit for an out-of-state registered OHV. If you have multiple machines or a machine with an unusual registration situation, say so and ask how the permit applies.
  2. Be ready to describe the machine. The North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department says an OHV registration application asks for the owner’s name and address, plus the machine’s make, year, and serial number. That list describes the registration application, not a confirmed checklist for a phone permit purchase. Still, having the machine details handy may help the representative identify what you are asking about; ask which details are actually needed for the permit.
  3. Give your planned travel dates and riding locations. The permit is for access to public trails and lands, but a permit does not tell you whether a specific trail is open or whether every place you hope to ride allows OHVs. Ask what the permit covers and what additional local or site rules you should check.
  4. Confirm the current cost and payment options before authorizing payment. The department lists the permit at $10 per year as of November 2026, but you should verify the amount and accepted payment method with the department at the time of purchase.
  5. Ask how you will receive proof of the permit. Confirm whether the department will provide a confirmation number, document, decal, or other proof, and how to access it. The supplied phone-purchase information does not state a delivery method, so do not assume proof arrives in a particular format.
  6. Repeat the machine and date details before ending the call. Check that the purchase is for the intended OHV and that you understand the permit’s effective period. Ask what to do if your confirmation is lost or you need to correct information.

During the call, it can help to use a plain, specific opening: “I have an OHV registered outside North Dakota and want to buy the non-resident public trails and lands access permit by phone.” Then give the details the representative requests. If you are uncertain whether an ATV, UTV, dirt bike, or another machine falls under the permit, describe it rather than relying only on a casual label.

Don’t assume the permit is valid for a rolling year from the purchase date. The North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department says non-resident permits run from January 1 to December 31. If your trip crosses that boundary, ask the department what applies to each part of your travel.

Before you ride: coverage, registration, and other rules

A permit is one part of preparing to ride, not blanket approval for every public area or road. The North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department says all riders must be properly registered or permitted to ride legally. Separately, riders still need to follow the rules for the ground they enter, the type of route, and the machine they operate. For help sorting out the visitor rules, see North Dakota Permits for Visiting Riders and North Dakota Has No Reciprocity With Any State.

Check the status of your intended riding area before setting out. The North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department says trail closures at Pembina Gorge State Park, Roughrider OHV Trail, and Turtle Mountain State Recreation Area are evaluated every 24 hours. That evaluation schedule is not a guarantee that a trail will be open when you arrive; confirm current conditions through the available official trail information. State park and recreation area trail information is available on the OuterSpatial App, according to the department.

Road use is a separate issue from trail access. A visitor permit does not make an OHV road-legal or override restrictions on where a machine may operate. For example, the North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department says it is illegal to operate an OHV on a highway shoulder or inside slope. The department also says roadway operation requires a motor with a minimum of 350 cubic centimeters. These requirements are not a substitute for checking the specific road and machine rules that apply to your ride. If your route might include a public road, review North Dakota ATV Road Rules by Surface Type before planning that portion.

Safety certification may matter for younger riders, but it is a separate requirement from buying a permit. The North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department says youth ages 12 through 15 without a valid driver’s license or learner’s permit must take a safety certification class to legally operate OHVs on allowed public lands. The department also says certification is required for operation on land other than a parent’s, including designated trails and ditches. A permit purchase does not replace that certification. See North Dakota OHV Safety Certificates at Age 12 for more on the training requirement.

If an eligible young rider needs training, check the course format and preparation requirements directly with the department. The North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department says its hands-on safety courses are free, each in-person class is limited to eight participants, and students must complete the introductory online e-course beforehand and bring their certificate number. The department also says in-person students must wear over-the-toe shoes, long pants, and a long-sleeve shirt, and bring their own eye protection. Those details can affect trip planning if a young rider needs certification before riding.

What to confirm before hanging up

A phone purchase is most useful when you leave the call knowing exactly what was issued and what it allows. Before ending the conversation, make sure you can answer these questions:

  • Is this the non-resident public trails and lands access permit for my out-of-state registered OHV?
  • What is the current cost, and how do I pay?
  • What information does the department need about me and the machine?
  • When does the permit begin and end?
  • How will I receive proof, and what should I do if it is lost or incorrect?
  • Does the permit meet the requirement for the places I plan to ride, or do I need to check for other access rules?
  • Where can I verify trail conditions before traveling?

Keep whatever proof the department provides with your travel documents, and make sure the people taking the machine know where it is. If the purchase is for more than one machine, ask the representative how the permit applies rather than assuming one purchase covers a group of vehicles. The key is to confirm the permit’s scope for your situation, since the department’s phone-purchase information does not spell out every scenario.

If the department directs you toward registration instead, don’t try to resolve a registration question by purchasing a visitor permit. The North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department says resident OHVs on public lands and trails require registration through the North Dakota Department of Transportation. Registration information includes the owner’s name and address and the machine’s make, year, and serial number. How to Register an ATV in North Dakota and North Dakota Permit for a Visiting Machine can help you distinguish the processes.

The simple takeaway: call 701-328-5357 if you are an out-of-state OHV owner seeking North Dakota’s non-resident public trails and lands access permit. Confirm the current cost, what information is needed, the permit’s calendar-year validity, and how you will receive proof. Then check trail status and any rules that apply to the land or route you plan to use.

Sources

Disclaimer

This article is for general informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice. Laws, prices and regulations vary by location and change over time. Consult a qualified professional for guidance on your specific situation.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *